Persimmon

I tried a persimmon for the first time the other day. They are hard to come by at grocery stores, and honestly, they look like an orange tomato, so I’m not sure what drove me to purchase one at the store. I knew it was a fruit, and I LOVE fruit, so I guess I was a bit curious.

I actually had to use google to figure out how to eat it – and I was anxious to try it because it doesn’t have a strong smell. Would it be bitter? What would the texture be like? Surprisingly, it had a very mildly sweet flavor and it’s flesh is similar to that of a nectarine. Overall, it is a delicious fruit!

Persimmon-oliv2.jpg

photo via wikimedia

After doing some research, I learned that there are two types – Fuyu and Hachiya. The fuyu persimmon is the orange, tomato-shaped fruit that is most common in grocery stores – accounting for about 80% of the persimmon market.

The benefits of eating this fruit are endless. According to Organic Facts, they contain antioxidantΒ properties that show great promise for optimizing health. Some benefits include their ability to boost your immune system, improve eye health, reduce oxidative stress, prevent signs of premature aging, and aid in lowering blood pressure. Notably, they have a very high vitamin and mineral content and are said to be packed with anti-cancer agents that can boost your body’s ability to fight free radicals.

So it tastes good AND it’s good for you? Yes, please!

06_12_persimmon_0004

 

Leave a Reply

